Our Staff

.
Sometimes you choose your job, other times your job chooses you.

Laura Whitaker began volunteering with ESP as a special ed college student in 2003. She was named Camp Director at just 19-years-old after the sudden passing of our founder, Martha. Over the last 17+ years, Laura has led ESP to growth and the expansion of our mission. She is passionate about leadership and uses her management strengths to manage staff, oversee multiple year-round programs, and raise funds to run programs. Her favorite part of the job is getting to hug the many children who walk through the ESP doors.
Laura’s most important roles include wife to husband Joseph and mother to Owen, Finley, and Tate.

For more about Laura, visit her site:

Executive Team

Laura Whitaker 
Chief Executive Officer 
laura@espyouandme.org

Ashley Stewart
Chief Operating Officer
ashley@espyouandme.org

Ami Spayd
Executive Assistant
ami@espyouandme.org

Valerie Beeson
Executive Project Manager
valerie@espyouandme.org

Programs Team

Erin Thompson Podvin
 Director of Community Programs
erin@espyouandme.org

Hunter Pugh
Community Programs Manager
hunter@espyouandme.org

Matt Waring
Athens Programs Manager
matt@espyouandme.org

Sarah Farriba
Rome Programs Coordinator
sarah@espyouandme.org

Anna Bostwick
Atlanta Programs Coordinator
anna@espyouandme.org

Addison King
Volunteer Coordinator
addison@espyouandme.org

Alex Bruggeman
Statewide Family Support Coordinator
alexb@espyouandme.org

Katie Hill
Athens Family Support Coordinator
katie@espyouandme.org

Madison McCrorey
Java Joy Athens Coordinator
madison@espyouandme.org

Operations Team

Scott Williams
Director of Operations
scott@espyouandme.org

Grant Colquitt
Operations Coordinator
grant@espyouandme.org

Shellie Sullivan
Administrative Coordinator
shellie@espyouandme.org

Hunter Reynolds
Facilities Coordinator
hreynolds@espyouandme.org

Karen Lee
Bookkeeper
karen@espyouandme.org

Development & Marketing Team

Alex Perry
Director of Development & Marketing
alex@espyouandme.org

Steve Argo
Leadership Annual Giving Officer
steve@espyouandme.org

Devon Smyth
Rome Leadership Annual Gift Officer
devon@espyouandme.org

Sarah Kennedy
Marketing Manager
sarahk@espyouandme.org

Brittney Butler
Marketing Coordinator
brittney@espyouandme.org

Mariharden McElheny
Stewardship & Events Coordinator
mariharden@espyouandme.org

Sydney Laughlin
Annual Giving Associate
sydney@espyouandme.org

Kristen Sudge
Creative Content Coordinator
kristen@espyouandme.org

AmeriCorps Team

Meet the AmeriCorps Team that supports the programs at ESP each day! Learn more about each member here.

Communications and Marketing

brittney@espyouandme.org

Corporate Partnerships

steve@espyouandme.org